Elettra-Sincrotrone Trieste S.C.p.A. website uses session cookies which are required for users to navigate appropriately and safely. Session cookies created by the Elettra-Sincrotrone Trieste S.C.p.A. website navigation do not affect users' privacy during their browsing experience on our website, as they do not entail processing their personal identification data. Session cookies are not permanently stored and indeed are cancelled when the connection to the Elettra-Sincrotrone Trieste S.C.p.A. website is terminated.
More info

Quantifying Through-Space Charge Transfer Dynamics in π-Coupled Molecular Systems

This work probes the relation between the rate of charge delocalization and the strength of through-space π-π coupling in stacked aromatic systems. With resonant photoemission we determine charge transfer (CT) dynamics in two molecular bi-layer systems with different inter-ring separation, [2,2]paracyclophane (22PCP) and [4,4]paracyclophane (44PCP) adsorbed on Au(111), which allows us to quantitatively probe the carrier transport as a function of inter-ring coupling strength. A.Batra et al.; http://www.nature.com/ncomms/journal/v3/n9/full/ncomms2083.html

We use the core-hole clock implementation of resonant photoemission spectroscopy to study the femtosecond charge-transfer dynamics in cyclophanes, which consist of two precisely stacked π-rings held together by aliphatic chains. We study two systems, [2,2]paracyclophane (22PCP) and [4,4]paracyclophane (44PCP), with inter-ring separations of 3.0 Å and 4.0 Å respectively. We find that charge transport across the π-coupled system of 22PCP occurs in 2fs whereas it is 20 times slower in the 44PCP. We attribute this difference to the reduced inter-ring electronic coupling in 44PCP, and illustrate the use of core-hole clock spectroscopy as a general tool for quantifying through-space coupling in π-stacked systems Retrieve article
Quantifying Through-Space Charge Transfer Dynamics in π-Coupled Molecular Systems, Arunabh Batra, Gregor Kladnik, Héctor Vázquez, Jeffrey S. Meisner, Luca Floreano, Colin Nuckolls, Dean Cvetko, Alberto Morgante, Latha Venkataraman
Ultima modifica il Lunedì, 30 Settembre 2013 16:09